Colorado Capitol Watch


Welcome Visitor

Forgot password?
Subscribe for Current Session

My CCW Tools

Look Up Bills

Look Up Legislators

Legislative Year: 2024 Change

Bill Detail: HB24-1139

Return to list of bills

emailSend an email to your legislator

Title Death Benefit for State Employee Surviving Spouse
Status Governor Signed (04/04/2024)
Bill Subjects
  • Labor & Employment
House Sponsors R. Armagost (R)
S. Lieder (D)
Senate Sponsors T. Exum Sr. (D)
P. Will (R)
House Committee Business Affairs and Labor
Senate Committee Business, Labor and Technology
Date Introduced 01/29/2024

Pursuant to the Workers' Compensation Act of Colorado, if an
employee dies, death benefits are paid to a dependent surviving spouse of
the employee for life or until remarriage. The bill specifies that death
benefits will be paid to a dependent surviving spouse of a deceased
employee for life, regardless of remarriage, if the surviving spouse
receives death benefits pursuant to current law, and the deceased
employee was a state employee who worked in a job with a high-risk
The bill specifies that a job with a high-risk classification
includes certain employees of the Colorado state patrol, certain employees
of the Colorado bureau of investigation, certain employees of the
department of corrections, certain firefighters employed by the division
of fire prevention and control in the department of public safety, wildlife
officers and parks and recreation officers employed by the division of
wildlife in the department of natural resources, and employees of the
department of transportation responsible for highway safety and

Committee Reports
with Amendments
Full Text
Full Text of Bill (pdf) (most recent)
Fiscal Notes Fiscal Notes (02/06/2024) (most recent)  
Additional Bill Documents Bill Documents
  • Past bill versions
  • Past fiscal notes
  • Committee activity and documents
  • Bill History
Lobbyists Lobbyists
Audio [This feature is available by subscription.]  
Votes House and Senate Votes
Vote Totals Vote Totals by Party
Copyright © 2008-2024 State Capitol Watch