Bill Detail: HB23-1253

Return to list of bills


Title Task Force To Study Corporate Housing Ownership
Status Governor Signed (06/07/2023)
Bill Subjects
  • Housing
House Sponsors M. Lindsay (D)
S. Sharbini (D)
Senate Sponsors N. Hinrichsen (D)
House Committee Transportation, Housing and Local Government
Senate Committee Local Government and Housing
Date Introduced 03/20/2023

The bill creates the task force on corporate housing ownership
(task force) in the division of housing in the department of local affairs
and directs the task force to examine data concerning home sales and
home ownership in Colorado, including a quantification of:
  • The total number of home sales that have occurred in
Colorado since January 1, 2008, within certain sales price
  • The total number of such home sales that resulted in the
home being owned entirely or partially by a corporation;
  • The total number of homes in each zip code of the state that
are owned entirely or partially by a corporation; and
  • The total number of homes in the state that are owned
entirely or partially by a corporation and are unoccupied.
The task force must report its findings to the legislative
committees of reference with jurisdiction over housing matters by
October 1, 2025. The report must include legislative recommendations to
address the issue of corporate ownership of housing in Colorado,
including recommendations regarding the potential creation of a fee to be
imposed upon corporations that own significant numbers of homes in
Colorado, which fee could be used to fund a grant program to award
grants to programs and organizations that address housing issues in
The task force is repealed, effective September 1, 2027.

Committee Reports
with Amendments
Full Text
Full Text of Bill (pdf) (most recent)
Fiscal Notes Fiscal Notes (08/01/2023) (most recent)  
Additional Bill Documents Bill Documents
  • Past bill versions
  • Past fiscal notes
  • Committee activity and documents
  • Bill History
Lobbyists Lobbyists
Votes House and Senate Votes
Vote Totals Vote Totals by Party
Copyright © 2008-2023 State Capitol Watch